Skip to content

Fragrance from the past

April 4, 2012

I have a secret dream. That when my children finally grow up, they look back at childhood and cherish the times when sweet aromas swept through our home. Not of chocolate, not of vanilla, not even of fresh baked bread.

I hated cardamom, or so I thought, as a child. The word got around so much once during one of the annual ceremonies at home that an uncle assured me that the cook had just gone around the vessel of sweets with cardamom in hand. I ate many a laddu that late rainy season.

When I look back now, they were indeed good times. Cousins on their Dasara break, the river filled with clean water. Every evening after school spent jumping into the cool relief. And sweet aroma wafting through the house. The aroma of cardamom.

So, on with my secret agenda of weaning the kids off chocolate, I reach for that bottle of cardamom at every chance. And now, I reach for this recipe my sister passed on to me from her collection, at every chance.

Without further ado, I present to you, the sweet little round round things, like my 4 year old calls them.

Ingredients (for about 30 pcs)

Rawa (Fine semolina)                                   1 cup
All purpose flour (maida)                           1 cup
Milk                                                                      1 cup
Sugar                                                                    1 cup
Cardamom                                                         seeds of 1 pod, ground well (about a 1/4 tsp)

Baking soda                                                        1 tsp (I also tried with baking powder)

Method

1. Mix all the ingredients except baking soda in a bowl and let rest for about 2 hours
2. Heat the ‘Kuzhi paniyaram’ pan at medium
3. Stir in baking soda and mix the batter well
4. Sprinkle drops of ghee into the ‘holes’ in the pan
5. Spoon in batter upto about half and cover
6. Turn over the paniyarams after about 4 minutes or when the bottom turns golden brown
7. Cook the other side for about 2-3 minutes

This is rather a filling snack, that’s dense yet fluffy. I really like to increase the rawa and reduce the flour in this batter. Gives more of an Indian feel. Another variation could be adding grated coconut / dessicated coconut. Or mashed banana or jackfruit. Going out and out savoury would be a wonderful variation. Thank God, there is no end to imagination.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. sumana bhat permalink
    April 5, 2012 07:01

    oh, you like cardamom….. ???!!!!

  2. April 27, 2012 20:40

    seems and sounds absolutely delightful like an appam we have in Kerala. I hope to try this sometime.

  3. April 28, 2012 10:38

    It does 🙂 I am from that place too.

  4. May 23, 2012 05:17

    Yay! S … good to know you are from Kerala..

Leave a Reply

