Skip to content

Baking, just like that.

January 14, 2012

This post is on popular demand, the response by my friends to yet another set of my show off pictures.

Disclaimer : I am neither a professionally trained baker nor a good cook. I only bake for family and sometimes for friends. If something turns out well, I blame the recipe. After 12 years of amateur baking, I can only snigger if someone says they cannot bake. Of course, not if they don’t own an oven.

For some weeks now we, or rather I, have been in a muffin/cupcake phase. “Yes!” from the 9 year old and the 4 year old always helps make that decision to go at it at 7 in the morning before getting to work. They are just that easy and accommodating.

Having said that I don’t claim to have baked the best cupcakes in town. What exactly is the difference between cupcakes and muffins, I wouldn’t care. I am too amateurish that way. In Germany, you only find muffins – vanilla, choco, blueberry… I also don’t get this euphoria over ‘wow, the best cupcake. You.got.to.try.it.’  This, you know, like the brownies ? After baking dozens of various brownies, I got over it. Finally. I have been in some really good pâtisseries and cupcakeries. I couldn’t tell. Could it be because of my aversion to that feeling after you stuff your face with the irrestible combination of Plain flour-sugar-butter ?

Whenever I bake, I try to tuck in something that makes it a tad bit ‘healthier’. Doing it with only whole meal wheat flour, sneaking in some spelt flour, half and half plain and whole meal flours, brown sugar in the place of white etc. I try to bake eggless as much as possible. Sometimes it costs you the utter fluffiness, but I haven’t heard much complaint so far.

Fluffy and springy

In the initial days I followed recipes to the T. I still do, if I have to donate the cake to the school. Otherwise, I have realized that there awaits a favourable outcome when fat, sweet and carbs are in the picture. Always.

Try any variation of the wonderful recipes spread around on the net. I wanted to bake something during Christmas and remembered my longing for a mango bake and the kesar mango puree tin in my pantry shelf I keep staring at. The one at holycowvegan was my first hit and only choice. I promptly made them, replacing flour with my whole wheat one. They came out alright, but leaving a slight aftertaste that I couldn’t put my finger on. Was it the baking soda or the whole wheat ? I shall bake it again with plain flour sans soda and see the result.

While I was at it, N1 as usual said “Eww… mango muffin!, I want chocolate ones”. So, on the side I made chocolate ones. They came out a bit crumbly, yet heady delicious (for someone who hasn’t been so fond of chocolate flavours, to say this!). And in the next days, I made variations as I went, results always being very munchable.

Breakfast in waiting

Eggless vanilla buttermilk/milk muffins

Ingredients

Flour                                                              1 1/2 – 1 3/4cups (whole wheat / plain & whole combination)
Baking powder                                           2 tsp

Buttermilk /milk                                        1 1/4 cups OR Whipping cream – 200g
Vanilla essence                                           a few drops (as per taste)
Sugar (brown/white)                                1/2 cup (or more, I like less sweet)
Sunflower oil                                                3 tbsp (or about 1/4 cup if you like)

Method

  1. Pre heat oven – 180°C
  2. Sift flour and baking powder. Do not skip this step.
  3. Beat/Blend all the wet ingredients and sugar at high speed for 2 minutes.
  4. Add the dry ingredients and stir till incorporated. I use a handheld eggbeater, hoping to leave the airpockets alone. Don’t overmix.
  5. Line a muffin tray with muffin liners and pour batter about 2/3rd of each cup. Or just use the muffin liners on the oven rack.
  6. Bake for about 25 minutes. Test with a little knife or tooth pick. Inserted tooth pick should come out clean.
  7. Cool on a wire rack

Make nutella, jam, honey filled sandwiches out of these! Adding lesser sugar to the batter will help.

Nutella sandwich, just what the doctor ordered

Eggless chocolate-vanilla muffins

Ingredients

Flour                                                 1 1/2 (whole wheat / plain & whole combination)
Baking powder                              2 tsp
Cocoa powder                               1/2 cup (adjust according to taste, more wouldn’t hurt ;))
Whipping cream                           200g
Vanilla essence                             a few drops (as per taste)
Sugar (brown/white)                 1/2 cup (or more, I like less sweet)
Sunflower oil                                 3 tbsp (or about 1/4 cup if you like)

Method
Just like the previous one. If the batter is too doughy, add some milk. This will help avoid the crumbliness I hope.

One Comment leave one →
  1. suchitra permalink
    January 14, 2012 22:43

    hey thanks for sharing the receipes will try and let u know bye

Leave a Reply

