Skip to content

Preposterous undertakings

November 9, 2011

Ok, this now has tended to turn into *shudder* a food blog, but I shall fight it with my life.

This space is tending to become a food blog, not because I am cooking/baking more, but because I have started imagining that what I make are turning out to be true killers.

What ? ‘killer’ is not the appropriate word ? Have you seen the ‘Lady Killer’ ? It can’t be such a bad choice of a word. If you were to drive down a street in a medium sized German town, the odds that you will have a fleeting glance at one of these boards is very high –

a. Friseur Hair Killer
b. Restuarant Plate Killer
c. Money Killer Bank

Ok, Ok. I made up the last two, but you get my drift.

Coming back to my putting up pictures of my culinary successes, here is the latest. I started making it since I was bored of baking the same old cakes. Secondly, I thought I would dazzle some with the quirky stuff. Thirdly, in a sizeable crowd, it’s easy to catch a victim or two. And fourthly, I really thought I had bloody lot of time on my hand on a saturday afternoon.

This particular halwa reeks of childhood memories. I remember coming home one day from school, a walk of about two kilometers, to the lovely aroma of sugar and cardamom, to potato Halwa, my birthday treat. Along with that also comes the memory of my grandma. The blessed soul who paved the way to my becoming a fan of making sweets. The soul who never shied away from novel cooking ideas. Potato halwa, raw papaya burfi… she was fearless.

This halwa per se, is quite an easy one. That is, if you are used to making halwa and not to thinking that ‘easy’ means 2-minute maggi.

Recipe  (Makes 30 pieces, takes about 45 minutes)

Ingredients

Boiled and mashed potatoes                                       5 cups
Sugar                                                                                     2 1/4 cups (I mixed white and brown sugar)
Ghee                                                                                      6 tbsp
Cardamom                                                                           2 pods, powdered
Saffron                                                                                   a few strands, optional
Food colour                                                                         a pinch
almond flakes, pistachio                                                for garnishing, optional

Method

1. Heat ghee in a thick bottomed pan
2. Stir in mashed potato, colour and sugar
3. Cook at medium heat, stirring occasionally
4. Sprinkle cardamom powder (and saffron), continue stirring
5. When the mass starts leaving the bottom of the pan, transfer to a greased plate / tray
6. Let it cool, cut into pieces, garnish

You may also like to toast cashew nuts and add just before taking the pan off the fire.

Verdict

Potato halwa is not your everyday sweet, as in texture and taste. It’s not chewy like the typical south Indian wheat /banana halwa. One may feel the lingering potatoness. For those who are not adventurous, it may need some getting used to.   Nevertheless, it’s the one I can totally swear by, totally foolproof!

Now, you take the test.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sumana permalink
    November 10, 2011 11:57

    Nostalgia………….

Leave a Reply

