Skip to content

Oh, the thinks you can think up…

April 27, 2011
“Think left and think right and think low and think high.  Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!”  ~Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Thinks You Can Think!

“Amma, I want a SIX!” came the urgent plea into the kitchen.

“What ??”

“I want a six, give me a six!”

“entha bEku magaLu ?”         (“what do you want, daughter!”)

“Six kodu, Oval-li haakule”    (“give me a six, to put into the oval”)

No clue, I look around desperately, now the tiny voice turning to a whine. Mentally I rewind and see what was happening when I wasn’t looking. Just where could a 3 year old put a six in ? Ah, the (round!) wooden clock with slots to stick in numbers ?

We go around looking for it. As I spot it in the bath and hand it to her, I realize how quickly these days of running my wild imagination wilder are flying past.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

