Skip to content

Rude German, polite German

October 6, 2008

I was at the bakery waiting for my turn and I watched. It was as if I was listening to music.

“Guten Morgen, Was wünschen Sie ?” (Good morning, what do u wish ?)

“Ich hätte gern ein blah blah bitte” (I would very much like a blah blah please)

“Bitte sehr, kommt was dazu ?” ( Here please, Anything else with that ?)

“Nein, Danke” (No, Thank you)

“2 EUR, Bitte” (2 EUR please)

“Auf wiedersehen, Schönen Tag noch” (See you, have a good day ahead)

“Danke, ebenfalls!” (Thank you, wish you the same)

This singsong dialogue repeated for every single customer. A question many asked me and still ask me about Germans and their rudeness kept coming to me. I am delightfully surprised time and again by the language they use in Germany. Notice the politeness ? Perplexing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 31, 2015 17:41

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

Leave a Reply

